ONLINE HELP


IMPORTANT NOTE: Your session on this website will expire after 20 minutes inactivity.
Click "CONTINUE MY SESSION" at the top or bottom of this page to continue your current session from exactly where you were.


GCalToolkit Online is the easiest and fastest way to remove any number of duplicates from Google Calendar.  It is currently not possible to edit the description, summary or location information for events in the Online tool - for that you will need to use the downloadable Windows Desktop Software.  However, for many Google Calendar clean ups, the online version will be more than sufficient, and it is often faster than the desktop version, especially if you have a slow internet connection.

PLEASE backup your Google Calendar BEFORE using GCalToolkit in case you make a mistake. The software can only do what you tell it do - if you tell it to delete all the events in your calendar it will obey!

The Online version of GCalToolkit is very easy and safe to use - here are some tips on how to best use it to keep your Google Calendar as clean and tidy as possible with minimum fuss.

The basic process is as follows:

1) Select dates to be removed from Google. your selections will be kept if you change pages, or change the number of events per page.
2) Click "Refresh Totals" to check the totals of changes to be made Google
3) Click "SYNC to GCAL" to delete all events marked "Remove" from Google. BE PATIENT!
4) Check that all deleted have been successful. If there remain events to delete (with a red warning top left) then click "Refresh Totals" again to see if Google is still in the process of deleting events that GCalToolkit has requested be removed. This may take up to 15 MINUTES OR MORE  for large numbers of deletes.
5) Click "SYNC to GCAL" again to reissue a request to delete all the events.
6) Clcik "Save Session" if there remain events to be deleted from Google.

If you haven't yet tried the Online GCalToolkit then here is the main screen that you will see when your calendar has loaded into GCALTOOLKIT ONLINE:


  • Please note that your Session will expire if there is no activity on a page for 20 minutes - GCalToolkit does not store your data for any longer than this for security reasons, and only writes your calendar information to file when you request to "Download" the session.  It is up to you to remove this file once you have downloaded it.
     
  • No changes are made to your Google Calendar until you hit "SYNC to GCAL": start by using the calendar selectors to choose multiple dates to delete (if necessary), change the "page" setting to display large ranges of dates for mulitple select, or manually select events to delete, or use the "Text Delete" function to mark as "Remove"... when you are ready to commit all the changes to Google, click "SYNC to GCAL", and wait... do not browse away from the page - you can continue to browse on other tabs while you are waiting for the results, but avoid using your browser "Back" or "Forward" buttons.
     
  • Google Calendar has a daily quota for the number of events you can download/delete/modify.  Usually this is about 18,000 events per day, but in some regions this can be only 9,000 events.  Each time you use GCalToolkit to connect to a different calendar withina single account you are using up quota - the number of events in the calendar will display top left under "Total Events".  The number of "Total Events" plus the number of duplicates to delete, plus any deletes you may have manually selected or using the date/text filter will be the amount of quota you use: if this is less than about 18,000 then you'll be ok, if not then you will at some point have to "Save Session" and continue after 24 hours once Google has reset your Quota.

    For example, if my calendar shows as 10,000 events and I have 2000 duplicates to remove I can do the whole operation in one settings. Please note that for such large numbers of deletes it may take up to 15 minutes or more for Google to reflect the changes that GCalToolkit makes.  You will also see that when you click "Sync to GCAL", although the page appears to have finished working, clicking "Refresh Totals" will indeed change the totals as deletes are still being processed in the background by Google. This may be surprising at first, but clicking "Sync to GCal" again will not do any harm, it is just unnecessary.  Please remember that a great number of requests are sent to Google, and GCalTooolkit must wait for a response for every request in order to be sure the end results are 100% accurate.

  • After syncing it may look as though nothing is happening, but Google can take up to 20 minutes to deal with all the reqests that GCalToolkit has sent. As Google deletes the events one by one, it sends a message to GCalToolkit for each event successfully deleted, and this running total is displayed, and updated every time you click "Refresh Totals".

  • If "Refresh Totals" is not making any change to the totals then usually all events that can be deleted have been deleted... but occasionally it may be necessary to "Sync to GCal" once more to run through the delete process again. 

  • If Google is refusing to accept any more deletes and the totals no longer change when you "Refresh Totals", then use "Save Session" to continue later: Google imposes a "Quota" which varies from 9,000 to 18,000 events created/deleted per 24 hours, so if you reach this limit please "Save" and "Download" your session file, and wait 24 hours for Google to reset your daily Quota.
     
  • You can check the checkbox next to "Total Duplicates" to relax the rules used for duplicates. With this option, the recurrence rule is ignored - any events with the same start/end times, title, description and location will be marked for deletion as a duplicate.
     
  • You can view the events in order by clicking on the header of the columns to sort either alphabetically or chronologically.
     
  • You can perform "multiple selection" in many browsers (chrome, IE7/8) using shift/click (ie click on first event to delete, hold down "shift" key, click on last event to delete.) You can also "Deselect" in a similar fashion.
     
  • You can clean up failed imports/syncs by sorting your events by the "Created" date (click on the column title "Created"), then using the calendar boxes to select the date in question for the failed Sync/Import. Finally "SYNC to GCal" to commit the changes to Google.
     
  • Browsers should have Javascript enabled to make full use of the GCalToolkit tool.  Chrome and IE work best with GCalToolkit, other browsers may be missing some funcionality (such as mulitple select with Shift/Click)
     
  • Be aware that if you go back and change calendar you will be using up your Google Daily Quota - so do not do this unnecessarily! You should do as much work as you can on a given calendar, and "Save Session" in case you wish to continue  working on that calendar sometime soon.  You can then go to download a different secondary calendar.

  • When changing the month/year using the advanced calendar selection (drop down box that appears when you click the Month/Year) be sure that you do indeed choose a new date before clicking "Keep" or "Delete".  Whan you change the view to a different month/year you have NOT YET selected a date - you MUST click on a new date to select a new date, and the date in question will be highlighted yellow.  If you see unexpected results when using the date filters, please check this.